Things I packed in my hospital bag

I gave birth at the California Pacific Medical Center (CPMC) in San Francisco. I talked to several moms, from both the US and abroad, about the contents of their hospital bags.  I’ve gotten an array of items, such that, had I decided to pack them all I would have needed a giant suitcase 🙂 Looking back, I definitely brought some things I didn’t need, but also skipped some I wish I hadn’t. So next time my hospital bag will contain:

  • a nursing bra (or two). Breastfeeding for the first time resulted in major nipple soreness. PJ’s or any clothing rubbing against sensitive skin was just not bearable.
  • nipple cream (Lanolin) to apply before showering or after breastfeeding if colostrum alone isn’t helping with the soreness
  • plastic flip flops
  • lagest pads I can find (like purple Always)
  • lip balm
  • toothbrush, toothpaste, facial cleanser and moisturizer, deodorant, hairbrush and hair elastics/clips.
  • shampoo is optional. They had baby shampoo at the hospital and that was fine for the short period I was there.
  • an outfit to go home in (leggings and a tunic)
  • an outfit to bring baby home in (onesie, footer PJs, warm blanket). He got to keep his hospital hat, so no need to bring one.
  • cell phone charger, camera

Things I brought but didn’t need:

  • underwear. I purchased the cheapest granny panties from Walgreens that I was going to toss out after use. Didn’t end up needing them as my hospital provided me with disposable undies.
  • PJ’s. I ended up wearing two hospital gowns (one backwards over the other) at all times during my stay. It was really the easiest thing to throw on and off. With all the breastfeeding and doctor checkups, having to fiddle around with regular clothing would have been too much trouble.
I was told that some women like to bring a book or DVD’s to pass time. Time was flying pretty fast for me, so there wasn’t any need for those. Plus there was no way I could have concentrated on a book, there was just so much going on.
I was also told to bring snacks as hospital only provided main meals. I didn’t have much of an apetite or need to snack with all the excitement going on, and hospital meals came in generous portions that kept me full and happy.
Leave a Reply

