Newborn diapering needs

Lazar, 1 month old

I was so nervous because I’ve never changed a diaper. But then I became an expert in 2.5 days. Given that I changed about 12 diapers a day, I quickly got a hang of it.

I never really considered using cloth diapers. It always seemed like a big chore, and I wasn’t sure how demanding being a mom would be. So disposable diapers it was from the start. I gave the following a try:

  • Pampers Swaddlers Sensitive Diapers– great absorbency, and I really liked the wetness indicator. Only after using diapers without one I actually realized it was a double edged sword: I ended up changing diapers way more often that I should have (like every hour, or as soon as I saw a smallest blue dot).
  • Honest lumberjack diapers – they feel a little rough, ok absorbency, no wetness indicator. They are non-toxic natural diapers. I bought a bunch on Gilt for a discount, so keep an eye there as they might be back. If you sign up for Gilt via this link, you should get $25 in your account.
  • Seventh Generation Free & Clear Diapers– similar to my review for Honest.
  • Huggies Little Snugglers Diapers– I had really bad experience with these. They leaked several times, flaps tore off as I was putting the diaper on, or they wouldn’t stick at all. It might have been a “bad batch” or else I’m not sure how this company’s still in business. I haven’t given them another chance just yet.

How many diapers do I need and what size? I purchased a single pack of about 80 in newborn size for starters. By the time we used those up, Lazar was ready to move on to size 1. (note, he was born weighing 8lbs 11.5oz.)

What about diaper rash? Yes, soon enough I was googling that :/ The good news is that diaper rash usually goes away in a day or two. I just wash the baby’s bottom with water and let him be diaper free for a few minutes to make sure the area’s completely dry. I apply a small amount of California Baby Diaper Rash Cream.I actually found it that it heals fast without the cream, too, if you give the bottom enough air-time.

Oh, right, I forgot about wipes! I used both Seventh Generation and Honest (I wanted natural wipes without any harsh chemicals). I liked both just the same. How many wipes? I use 2 for pee-pee diapers and 5-6 for poo-poo, so do the math.

And finally, to dispose of dirty diapers, I use Green N Pack compostable bags and toss them in household trash. My baby’s exclusively breastfed so his diapers don’t have a strong smell yet. I also didn’t like the look of diaper genies, and don’t know if I’ll ever be getting one in the future. I might change my mind once he starts eating solids 🙂

 

 

One thought on “Newborn diapering needs

  1. Great tip I received via private message:

    “Witch Hazel is natural and AMAZING for diaper rash! Works quick, is very cheap to purchase at your local pharmacy or natural health store, and you can use it in its original form or dilute it with water and add lavender and other soothing oils to it! 🙂 No side effects, perfectly safe for baby!
    also works great for sprains/strains, a natural aftershave, removing yucky sticky stuff (residue from tape, oils, etc.) from skin :).”

    Like

Leave a Reply

